Welcome to my article where I will be telling you whether Hummus is vegan friendly or not so that you can know the truth before deciding to eat it as a vegan.
With the vegan community growing at a large scale yearly that is the reason most people are out there looking for information for this lifestyle.
Hi, my name is Thabo and I have been a vegan for more than 10 years and I can say that I have learnt a lot about this diet without being taught just learning through trial and error and some research.
This is why this has become my passion to help people find answers for a vegan lifestyle in general. In this article this is my mission.
Before we start you may be interested in getting my free weight loss guide book that will help you lose weight permanently.
Without further ado, let’s get started.
What is Hummus?
Hummus is basically a chickpea spread that originates in Middle East and it is known to be great as a dip or anything that you are looking to add flavor on.
This can be anything from chips, to carrots or even sandwiches you name it. As long as it is something you are looking to add some taste on.
many people usually get confused whether this can be a vegan food or not and this is because there are many varieties of hummus.
This means that you will also be able to know before eating it and this is what I will be helping you with in this article so you will know.
Ingredients of Hummus?
To know the truth it is vital that you are able to know what hummus is made of. I will list the general ingredients of the hummus:
- Lemon Juice
- Oliver oil
This is the basic of the hummus composition. You can of course add your different varieties so that you will be able to enjoy according to your preferences.
This is the reason that many people add non-vegan ingredients to make the hummus more flavorful.
As you can see the ingredients above are purely vegan and there are no fancy things when it comes to it. This means if you get pure hummus it will generally have these ingredients.
Is Humus vegan?
Hummus, as you have already seen, is basically vegan in its basic form which means that there are no issues that you must worry about.
Hummus usually comes vegan wherever you decide to by it from whether your local store or a big store.
However, you need to be careful as some few brands are not 100% vegan, but this is super rare to find. So this will mean you need to have a lot of discernment when it comes to this.
I always look at the ingredients anyway as a vegan when I get something just to make sure so do many vegans.
However, if you are new to this vegan lifestyle then you should be able to do the same too so you never eat something that is not good for you.
Is Hummus healthy?
Here is the other vital aspect. Now that you know that humus is vegan it is now time to take a look whether it is even healthy or not.
The simple answer is that hummus is generally good for you since it is filled with loads of plant based ingredients and also has loads of nutrients.
This means that the hummus will be filled with fiber which will keep you fuller for long and this is vital if you are looking to lose weight.
It also does not have unhealthy fat which could contribute to heart conditions as it is filled with olive oil.
Is Hummus good for babies?
If you have babies or are just wondering whether hummus is good for babies you really should not have any issue with this.
This means that you can give you children with any food that you want to give them with especially since the hummus is super healthy.
Even if your baby is vegan you can easily add more things to enhance the protein content in Hummus so your kids will be able to enjoy with and benefit health-wise.
When it comes to making hummus for babies or giving them ensure you add some of there favorite ingredients to enhance the taste.
When it comes to vegan food the most vital thing is to be knowledgeable about how it will help you so that you do not risk your health.
The Hummus is basically a vegan food that is made with plant based ingredients.
However, one needs to know that not all hummus are vegan as this depends on the store you purchase it from. Others add extra non-vegan ingredients.
The hummus is generally used as a dip for many things like chips, carrots or even tofu sandwiches.
If you are wondering whether hummus is healthy or not than worry not because it is a very healthy food if you are looking to add a bit of health for your body.
You can also use hummus for sandwiches which will be something that will be able to help you easily get protein that is healthy.
You can also give it to your children as it is super healthy and can help with giving them fiber so they can stay full for longer.
I hope this article was helpful and I hope it gave you the value that you are looking for. If you have any questions or comments you can leave them below and I will be more than happy to engage with you as normal.